« Thursday's | Main | In Which We are Blog of the Day Sometime Last Week »

October 28, 2006

EMAIL Hell - This Greeting Card is Not All Yours

by Ferdinand T Cat

Greeting card spam has been around for a while. I discussed one example back in January of this year. (I don't know exactly why, but that seems like a whole different world from the one we live in now.)

Anyway, the latest bumper crop pretends to be from http://www.all-yours.net, which is a legitimate greeting card site. The spam mail contains five links that all appear different but in fact point to the same URL. That URL is an executable file disguised as a JPEG image: postcard.jpg.exe.

I'm not worried about somebody falling for this trick and infecting their computer with a virus, because in fact the EXE file, if it ever existed, is long gone. The interesting thing about this SPAM is the host web site for the malicious file, which is http://www.floheiss.com. Flo Heiss is a real person who works for Dare Digital. Dare is a marketing firm that specializes in website development, online advertising, interactive content, and (drum roll please) email marketing.

Dare is a legitimate business with high-profile clients, including Vodafone, for whom they created this website. I doubt they had anything to do with the All-Yours Greeting Card Spam campaign. The spammers probably hacked Mr. Heiss's web site to plant the EXE file, and it was deleted by routine web site maintenact.

Still, you could build a skyscraper with the irony here.

Respectfully submitted,

Ferdinand T. Cat


# At Sat 2:42 PM | Permalink | Trackback URI | Comments (2) | More EMAIL Hell | Tags:

Trackback Pings

Comments

Oh I hate greeting card spam. It makes me not want to open the legitmate ones I get from my girlfriend.


Posted by: Maddux Sports at October 28, 2006 9:45 PM

I think I'll just go back to snail mail postcards, the kind made out of real paper.


Posted by: Viking Son at October 29, 2006 10:38 AM

HTML is not allowed in comments; however, if you put in a raw URL (http://www.somewhere.com/page.html) it will automatically be converted to a link.. Also, it is likely your comment will not appear unless you refresh the page manually after posting it.

Post a comment